Lillie Lovette, a long-time volunteer for the Mississippi Humanities Council, has been selected to receive a 2012 Governor's Initiative for Volunteer Excellence (GIVE) Award. GIVE Awards celebrate ordinary people in Mississippi doing extraordinary things to improve lives and communities across the state. The GIVE Awards honor individuals and groups who positively impact the state of Mississippi through their significant volunteer efforts. These esteemed community leaders’ stories serve as inspiration for National Volunteer Week, April 15-22.

“Lillie’s tireless work as a volunteer for the Mississippi Humanities Council has ranged from scholar, consultant, grant writer and outside evaluator to coordinator of the Council’s traveling Smithsonian Institution exhibit program,” said David Morgan, special projects director for the Mississippi Humanities Council. “Lillie’s duties include traveling to visit host sites across the state, making personal contacts to ensure all programs run smoothly and the exhibits reach each site safe and intact. She is also responsible for all of the paperwork required by the Smithsonian, including an extensive final report. She has worked with every Smithsonian exhibit that has come to Mississippi, serving on each tour as transportation coordinator, orientation workshop trainer and trainer for the docent workshops conducted at each site. Lillie’s contributions to the people and communities of the state of Mississippi are vast.”

The Mississippi Commission for Volunteer Service (MCVS), in coordination with the Office of the Governor and First Lady Deborah Bryant, honorary chair of the MCVS Board of Commissioners, announced the 2012 GIVE honorees:

INDIVIDUAL RECIPIENTS: Elbert Hilliard (Madison) ~ The Marsha Meeks Kelly Award For Lifetime Achievement in Volunteer Service; Dr. Giovina Chinchar (Jackson) ~ Outstanding Humanitarian Service; Elizabeth Coleman (Jackson) ~ Outstanding Achievement by a Volunteer Management Professional; Preston Hays (Jackson) ~ Outstanding Achievement in Educational Innovation; Lillie Lovette (Edwards) ~ Outstanding Achievement in the Arts & Humanities; Rosie Nelson (Oxford) ~ Outstanding Service by a National Service Participant; Marshall Ramsey (Madison) ~ Outstanding Service by a Media Personality; Pauline Redmond (Columbus) ~ Outstanding Service in Disaster Relief; Detrater Roberts (Clinton) ~ Outstanding Achievement in Healthy Community Initiatives; Delmar P. Robinson (Biloxi) ~ Outstanding Achievement in Sustainable Community Solutions

ORGANIZATIONAL RECIPIENTS: Alexander’s Photography (Biloxi) ~ Outstanding Volunteer Service by a Business; Tippah County Good Samaritan Center (Ripley) ~ Outstanding Achievement by a Faith-Based Organization

These distinguished honorees will be recognized at an awards luncheon scheduled for April 16 at the Mississippi Museum of Art. “The 2012 GIVE Award recipients raise the bar in humanitarianism and servant leadership; not only for the state of Mississippi, but for the nation. We are humbled and honored to tell their stories of selfless service that are sure to inspire and encourage in these trying times,” said W. David Mallery, MCVS executive director.

MCVS will also recognize nine honorable mentions: Arline Baker (Meridian) ~ City of Meridian RSVP; Jerald Ball (Whitfield) ~ MS State Hospital; James W. Hill, Sr. (Monticello) ~ Habitat for Humanity; Teresa Hill (Terry) ~ Epilepsy Foundation of MS; Brenda and Ronnie Luther (Holly Springs) ~ Clydesdale Christmas Store; Richard Wayne Parker (Jackson) ~ LifeShare Foundation; Rotary District 6820 (Winona) ~ MS Children’s Museum; Sue Tolbert (Vicksburg) ~ Salvation Army Disaster Response; Mike Wheatley (Pascagoula) ~ Jackson County CASA.

Posted on March 29 2012