In 2009, Congress authorized the Mississippi Delta National Heritage Area, which includes 18 counties -- Bolivar, Carroll, Coahoma, DeSoto, Holmes, Humphreys, Issaquena, LeFlore, Panola, Quitman, Sharkey, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tunica, Warren, Washington and Yazoo. The public is invited to attend a series of Community Forums to learn about the National Heritage Area and share ideas to help plan to preserve, celebrate and share the important stories and places of the Mississippi Delta.

Three Community Forums are planned:

Monday, May 14—6-9 p.m. Vicksburg National Military Park, auditorium 3201 Clay Street Vicksburg, MS The meeting in Vicksburg will be preceded by a presentation and special announcement by John Hildreth, vice president of Eastern Field Services for the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

Tuesday, May 15—10 a.m.-Noon Greenville Higher Education Center 2900A Highway 1 South Greenville, MS

Tuesday, May 15—5:30-7:30 p.m. Old Clarksdale Greyhound Bus Station, visitors center 1540 DeSoto Avenue Clarksdale, MS

Admission is free. Reservations are not required. Refreshments will be served.

For more information, call 662.846.4311 or visit

Posted on May 03 2012